Styling Idea # 25 Mini Sofa (The Settee)

INSPIRATION FOR THIS POST

If you will allow me to pop back into my bedroom for a momento – I want a bedroom chair. BUT bedroom chairs seem so passe – if I had the space I would be investing in a mini sofa or the settee! That leads me to this post and I am making an announcement- I think the SETTEE is the best thing to buy right now. Wow- did I really just say that? That is a pretty big call, however I cannot imagine a room that wouldn’t benefit from such an excellent piece of furniture. I want several and you will too after seeing these.

Holly Maus

Lonny Magazine

Ochre Chair

Ochre Chair

Greg Natale

Jonathon Adler

Apartment Dreams

Found on The Design Files- Megan Park Store

TRANSLATION: TRY THIS AT HOME

  • Breaking this styling idea down is like describing how a puppy looks cute- they just do! Small things are always better looking and sofa’s are no exception.
  • These can be pretty, rustic, minimal, retro, classic, traditional whatever you fancy!
  • Think about different walls that these can sit on- they hold their own so empty walls can filled with joy and settee’s. Hallways, entrances, mezzanine levels, dining rooms, kitchens, bathrooms- I don’t think I need to go on.
  • Invest in mirrors, pendents and side tables and you have this styling idea nailed.
  • Think about the upholstery- each upholstery type will speak volumes about your space. As this is not the main lounge you could go a bit crazy with upholstery prints or keep it classic with velvet or linen.
  • I would love to see two mismatch fabric settees either side of a breakfast table- lovely.
  • Do you need a cushion on your settee? Well, not necessarily- I am a big fan of these looking undressed so if you cannot find the perfect cushion make up for it with an amazing piece of art over it and keep it bare.
Tags:

Leave a Reply

