Styling Idea # 405 Ercol Purchase (Excitement)

INSPIRATION FOR THIS POST 

I see a lot of furniture. A lot of lamps, chairs, sofas and tables. I used to work at Vampt Vintage surrounded by simply the best Scandinavian designs in the world and yet I had not encountered real life Ercol. Founded in 1920 in England this remarkable furniture house has produced quality craftsmanship for almost a century.

You may already be familiar with some of the originals that are back in production in a new colour palette?

Ercol Originals

I am pleased to say I am now the proud owner of a set of four Ercol dining chairs. My new purchase (how exciting) was a super find from Red Rider in St Kilda (thanks to Josh for the excellent service). The design I fell in love with is a little more retro dating from the 1960’s however they feel very shaker in their simple aesthetic would you agree? Whilst I am not sure these are collectable at the moment I do not intend to re-sell anytime soon so I don’t mind a bit. They are in original condition (Ercol stickers in tack) and have delicious retro fabric covers. The million dollar question is would I ever paint them???

Ercol 1960's Dining Chair

Have a great weekend everyone! If you happen to find an Ercol love seat anywhere give me a call…..I think I might start a collection.

Leave a Reply

